Tuesday, 28 June 2011

Capcom not letting you share your game without sharing your save game


With the upcoming release of Resident Evil: The Mercenaries 3D, some people have managed to get copies early and a curious sentence was found in the games manual "Note: saved data on this software cannot be reset". Why is this a bad thing? Say you want to pass on your copy to a friend and start them on a new game, you can't do that. If you want to reset your progress for fun, you can't do that. If you buy the game used, you're getting a game that has already had progress made on it.

This news has, of course, got many people to be very angry, with the news spreading across many forums with rage. Many see this as a clear move to combat second hand sales and trade ins, but Capcom say this is not so.

Giant Bomb's Patrick Klepek managed to get a statement from Capcom "Used games sales were not a factor in this development decision, so we hope that all our consumers will be able to enjoy the entirety of the survival-action experiences that the game does offer"

This doesn't really explain anything nor does it justify such a practice, Capcom aren't even blaming technical issues. It could be that they saw little benefit to having such a feature, if everything is unlocked from the start anyway, what would be the point in deleting your save file. It might even make it more fun to buy it used because you'll have someone else's score to beat.

I'm not saying I'm on Capcom's side, but I can see how it could be justified. This is only if there is nothing to unlock from the start, if that's not the case, then Capcom has no justification, if that is the case, why bother playing if there is no real reward for winning?

No comments:

Post a Comment